People

 

Michael Murrell

Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering and Physics

Member, Systems Biology Institute

Affiliate to the BQBS Program

BS Johns Hopkins, PhD MIT, Postdoc UChicago/Inst Curie

michael.murrell@yale.edu


Administrative Staff

 

Lisa Epifano
Lab Administrator
lisa.epifano@yale.edu


Post-doctoral Associates

Dong Wang
PhD, Duke University
dong.wang@yale.edu

Scientific Interests: Migration of cells on soft substrates, granular materials.

Personal Interest: Soccer, movies and history.

Sheng Chen
PhD, Michigan State University
sheng.chen.sc2959@yale.edu

Scientific Interests: Active nematics, Non-newtonian fluids, Cell mechanics.

Personal Interest: Reading mystery novel and traveling.

Ryota Sakamoto

PhD Kyushu University

ryota.sakamoto@yale.edu


Graduate Students

Sorosh Amiri
Mechanical Engineering
MS, Sharif University of Technology
sorosh.amiri@yale.edu

Scientific Interests: Mechanobiology of cell migration in confined spaces.

Personal Interests: Performing music, traveling, animation. 

Zachary Sun
Physics Department
BA & BS, University of Massachusetts - Amherst
zachary.sun@yale.edu

Scientific Interests: Non-equilibrium Statistical Mechanics, Stochastic processes (theory), Cell force generation, Artificial cells (experiment).

Personal Interests: Basketball, creative writing/poetry, flute, language acquisitions.


Undergraduate Students


Alumni

Camelia Muresan (Postdoctoral scholar)

Laura Lanier (Postdoctoral scholar)

Danny Seara (PhD, May 2020, Current position: Postdoctoral Fellow at University of Chicago)

Pasha Tabatabai (Postdoctoral scholar, Current position: Professor of Physics at Seattle University)

Frank Fazekas (Undergraduate researcher)

Aaliyah Ibrahim (Undergraduate researcher)

Joseph Tibbs (Summer intern, Summer 2019)

Sirine Amiri (Summer intern, Summer 2018)

Ian Linsmeier (PhD, December 2018)

Gwilherm Jaspard (Graduate student, Ecole Polytechnique, Summer 2017)

Joel Lemiere (Postdoc, 2016-2017)