People

 

Michael Murrell

Assistant Professor, Biomedical Engineering and Physics

Member, Systems Biology Institute

Affiliate to the BQBS Program

BS Johns Hopkins, PhD MIT, Postdoc UChicago/Inst Curie

michael.murrell@yale.edu


Administrative Staff

 

Michelle Markey
Lab Administrator
michelle.markey@yale.edu


Post-doctoral Associates

Sulaiman Yousafzai Muhammad
PhD, University of Trieste
muhammad.yousafzai@yale.edu

Scientific Interests: Forces in spreading cell aggregates.

Personal Interests: Poetry, good food, and discussing current affairs.

Pasha Tabatabai
PhD, Georgetown University
alan.tabatabai@yale.edu

Scientific Interests: Force propagation in active networks.
 
Personal Interests: Camping, rock climbing, and traveling.
 
 

Vikrant Yadav
PhD, Clark University
vikrant.yadav@yale.edu

Scientific Interests: Active matter physics, biophysics, and Granular Mechanics. Designing low cost experiments.

Personal Interests: Standup comedy and documentaries, reading non-fiction, and physics of social systems.

Camelia (Tusan) Muresan
PhD, University of Southampton
camelia.muresan@yale.edu

Scientific Interests: Molecular control of cell polarization, mechanotransduction and regenerative medicine.

Personal Interest: Hiking, traveling, science communication, classical music.

Twitter


Graduate Students

Ian Linsmeier
Biomedical Engineering Dept, NSF Graduate Fellow
BS, UW-Madison
ian.linsmeier@yale.edu

Scientific Interests: Active, adaptive materials, and complex biological systems. Design of bioinspired, self-assembling, and light-responsive material.

Personal Interests: 3D printing, CAD platforms, and interactive design.

Danny Seara
Physics Department, NSF Graduate Fellow
BS, New York University
daniel.seara@yale.edu

Scientific Interests: Non-equilibrium statistical mechanics, stochastic processes, active matter theory and simulation.

Personal Interests: History and philosophy of science, science communication, outreach, writing music.


Undergraduate Students

 

Aaliyah Ibrahim
Biomedical Engineering Department
aaliyah.ibrahim@yale.edu

  Frank Fazekas
Physics Department
frank.fazekas@yale.edu 

Alumni

Gwilherm Jaspard (Graduate student, Ecole Polytechnique, Summer 2017)

Joel Lemiere (Postdoc, 2016-2017)