People

 

Michael Murrell

Assistant Professor, Biomedical Engineering and Physics

Member, Systems Biology Institute

Affiliate to the BQBS Program

BS Johns Hopkins, PhD MIT, Postdoc UChicago/Inst Curie

michael.murrell@yale.edu


Administrative Staff

 

Michelle Markey
Lab Administrator
michelle.markey@yale.edu


Post-doctoral Associates

Sulaiman Yousafzai Muhammad
PhD, University of Trieste
muhammad.yousafzai@yale.edu

Scientific Interests: Single cell mechanics, forces in spreading cell aggregates.

Personal Interests: Poetry, good food, history and current affairs.

Pasha Tabatabai
PhD, Georgetown University
alan.tabatabai@yale.edu

Scientific Interests: Assembly and mechanics of biomaterials, energy utilization and dissipation within the cytoskeleton.
 
Personal Interests: Hiking and cooking.
 
 

Vikrant Yadav
PhD, Clark University
vikrant.yadav@yale.edu

Scientific Interests: Active matter physics, biophysics, and Granular Mechanics. Designing low cost experiments.

Personal Interests: Standup comedy and documentaries, reading non-fiction, and physics of social systems.

Camelia Tusan Muresan
PhD, University of Southampton
camelia.muresan@yale.edu

Scientific Interests: Molecular control of cell polarization, mechanotransduction and regenerative medicine.

Personal Interest: Hiking, traveling, science communication, classical music.

Twitter

Dong Wang
PhD, Duke University
dong.wang@yale.edu

Scientific Interests: Migration of cells on soft substrates, granular materials.

Personal Interest: Soccer, movies and history.

Laura Lanier
PhD, University of Massachusetts - Amherst
laura.lanier@yale.edu

Scientific Interests: Biophysics, nanomechanics, regenerative medicine.

Personal Interest: Reading fiction, baking and quilting.


Graduate Students

Danny Seara
Physics Department, NSF Graduate Fellow
BS, New York University
daniel.seara@yale.edu

Scientific Interests: Non-equilibrium statistical mechanics, stochastic processes, active matter theory and simulation.

Personal Interests: History and philosophy of science, science communication, outreach, writing music.

Sorosh Amiri
Mechanical Engineering
MS, Sharif University of Technology
sorosh.amiri@yale.edu

Scientific Interests: Mechanobiology of cell migration in confined spaces.

Personal Interests: Performing music, traveling, animation. 

Daniel Green
Physics Department
BA, Swarthmore College
d.green@yale.edu

Scientific Interests: Biophysics and Non-equilibrium thermodynamics.

Personal Interests: Soccer, music, stand-up comedy.

Zachary Sun
Physics Department
BA & BS, University of Massachusetts - Amherst
zachary.sun@yale.edu

Scientific Interests: Non-equilibrium Statistical Mechanics, Stochastic processes (theory), Cell force generation, Artificial cells (experiment).

Personal Interests: Basketball, creative writing/poetry, flute, language acquisitions.


Undergraduate Students

 

Aaliyah Ibrahim
Biomedical Engineering Department
aaliyah.ibrahim@yale.edu

  Frank Fazekas
Physics Department
frank.fazekas@yale.edu 

Alumni

Ian Linsmeier (PhD, December 2018)

Gwilherm Jaspard (Graduate student, Ecole Polytechnique, Summer 2017)

Joel Lemiere (Postdoc, 2016-2017)